On the far eastern edge of Lunigiana, in the high Taverone valley, lying in a corner of Tuscany that projects towards the provinces of Parma and Reggio Emilia, we may find the hamlet of Comano.
We are immersed in the Tuscan-Emilian Apennine Park, in one of the most unspoiled landscapes of Lunigiana, where herds of wild horses bring to mind epic scenes from the American Far West. This valley is where the Comano Castle dominated as a tax post and bastion for the Malaspina family, defending two important mountain passes in the Apennines, Ospedalaccio and Cerreto.
Today, all that is left is a cylindrical tower with swallow-tailed crenellations from the 13th Century, like its counterparts in Malgrate, Bagnone and Treschietto, and its 15th-Century walls. It is first mentioned in a document from 824, when the hamlet, with the castle defending its population, was donated to the Aulla abbey. In Medieval times it was under the Estensi family, who passed it to the Malaspinas in the second half of the 12th Century.
Initially, a vassal family named Dollo looked after the castle for them, but following a fratricide that killed the patriarch Manuele, Spinetta Malaspina did not allow the crime to go unpunished, and tooth for tooth, had all the murdering brothers decapitated, annexing the hamlet to the feud of Verrucola. In 1479, Comano was brought under the dominion of the Republic of Florence.
Though today the structure is clearly in a state of abandonment, the publicly owned circular tower has recently been restored. Reservations must be made in advance.
Source: Trame di Lunigiana